Baby Steps 2.0

Well, it’s interesting how things happen. Last night, I wrote about not wanting to force my son to walk, and that he would do it in his own time, and today…he’s walking! We were sitting out on the back porch trying to stay out of direct sunlight (it’s hot as HELL in Dayton today), and he was holding onto the railings, walking across the porch away from me. I thought for a minute, maybe he’ll get nervous and start freaking out, but he was okay. He kept turning back and laughing, so, I didn’t think anything of it, he was having a good time.

Each time, he held on, and walked a little bit further away, and im just trying to make sure that I can jump up and grab him if he decides he wants to jump somewhere or falls. I offered him some water thinking he would follow the railing back, but he let go of the railing, and just walked over to me. Just like that! At first, I thought I was seeing things, but he took small little steps, and just kept making his way over to me. I couldn’t believe it. My baby walking!!! Almost immediately, I flashed back to the first time I saw him, wow, my baby. And now, WOW, this is MY baby, walking to me for the first time. I cried in excitement, and I am not a cryer. This is the next step, he’s on his way. Getting bigger every day, and giving me more things to be excited about and look forward to!

4 Responses

  1. I remember when Saaid took his first steps. Everyone was saying how he is waiting too late to walk,but I was like I’ll let him move at his own pace. Before I knew it,he was walking to me and now he’s getting into everything LOL

  2. Yeah, they will walk, talk, run and other things on their own time.. no need to rush.

  3. Awww….congrats! That is so awesome when they take another ‘step’ (literally, lol). You think, wow, I made this little person who is now doing all these things by themselves! I’m so happy for you. I remember it took 18 months for my daughter to grow her first tooth, and I thought she’d would need baby dentures, then one day, I saw the telltale white spot. Now she’s 7 1/2 and getting her permanent ones.

  4. YAAAAY! I know I’m late…but I’m envisioning him as you describe it! I’m so PROUD of him and YOU!!!

    YAAAAAY!!!!!

Leave a comment